MTV EMAs: Jared Leto tells London crowd America is ‘a land of immigrants … we welcome you’
Jared Leto of Thirty Seconds to Mars speaks on stage during the 2017 MTV European Music Awards. (Dave J. Hogan/Getty Images for MTV)
Jared Leto of Thirty Seconds to Mars speaks on stage during the 2017 MTV European Music Awards. (Dave J. Hogan/Getty Images for MTV) By Emily Yahr Emily Yahr Style reporter covering pop culture and entertainment Email Bio Follow November 12, 2017

Last November, the MTV European Music Awards called out U.S. politics when Green Day lead singer Billie Armstrong told the audience that it was a relief to get away from the United States during the “horrendous” presidential campaign. “The entire country is about to have one big collective heart attack,” Armstrong said during his acceptance speech.

This year, unlike many award shows, the EMAs (taking place at Wembley Stadium in London) stayed away from anything overtly political. Although when Jared Leto’s band Thirty Seconds to Mars accepted the award for best alternative act, he had a message he wanted to get across.

“Europe, you have changed our lives. This is for you, this is about you. And we stand here proudly on this stage tonight in celebration of you,” Leto said. “We are Americans, a land of immigrants — and we just want to say that we welcome you with open arms and with open hearts and we love you. God bless you.”

The other speeches mostly thanked managers, labels, etc. — although when U2 received the Global Icon Award, Bono got creative, belting out a few lines of U.K. rapper Stormzy’s “Blinded by Grace.”

Stormzy performs at the 2017 MTV European Music Awards. (Dylan Martinez/Reuters)

Meanwhile, Stormzy sang his hit “Big for Your Boots” on stage in a police car during the two-hour telecast, which also included performances by host Rita Ora (“Your Song”); Demi Lovato (“Sorry Not Sorry”); Camila Cabello (“Havana”); Kesha (“Learn to Let Go”); Liam Payne (“Strip That Down”); and Eminem, who performed his new track “Walk On Water” with guest artist Skylar Grey.

Demi Lovato performs onstage at the EMAs. (Joel Ryan/Invision/AP)

Eminem also won the award for best hip-hop over acts such as Drake, Future and Kendrick Lamar, and seemed a bit confused by the honor.

“I’m not really sure how I got this, I haven’t had an album out in a few years,” Eminem said, but he assured everyone that he will have a record out soon.

Eminem performs on stage during the 2017 MTV European Music Awards. (Dave J. Hogan/Getty Images for MTV)

Vine sensation turned pop star Shawn Mendes had a big night, winning best song for “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back” and best artist, the most coveted prize. Here’s the rest of the winners and nominees:

BEST SONG Clean Bandit — Rockabye ft. Sean Paul & Anne-Marie DJ Khaled — Wild Thoughts ft. Rihanna, Bryson Tiller Ed Sheeran — Shape of You Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee — Despacito (Remix) ft. Justin Bieber Shawn Mendes — There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back (winner)

BEST HIP HOP Drake Eminem (winner) Future Kendrick Lamar Post Malone

BEST VIDEO Foo Fighters — Run Katy Perry — Bon Appétit ft. Migos Kendrick Lamar — HUMBLE. (winner)  KYLE — iSpy ft. Lil Yachty Taylor Swift — Look What You Made Me Do

BEST ALTERNATIVE Imagine Dragons Lana Del Rey Lorde The xx Thirty Seconds To Mars (winner)

BEST POP Camila Cabello (winner) Demi Lovato Miley Cyrus Shawn Mendes Taylor Swift

BEST ROCK Coldplay (winner) Foo Fighters Royal Blood The Killers U2

BEST NEW Dua Lipa (winner) Julia Michaels Khalid KYLE Rag’n’Bone Man

BEST ELECTRONIC Calvin Harris David Guetta (winner) Major Lazer Martin Garrix The Chainsmokers

BEST LIVE Bruno Mars Coldplay Ed Sheeran (winner) Eminem U2

BEST ARTIST Ariana Grande Ed Sheeran Kendrick Lamar Miley Cyrus Shawn Mendes (winner) Taylor Swift

BEST WORLD STAGE Steve Aoki — Live from Isle of MTV Malta 2016 Kings of Leon — Live from Oude Luxor Theatre, Rotterdam, The Netherlands 2016 DNCE — Live from Isle of MTV Malta 2017 The Chainsmokers — Live from Isle of MTV Malta 2017 (winner) Foo Fighters — Live from Barcelona 2017

BEST PUSH Hailee Steinfeld (winner) Jon Bellion Julia Michaels Kacy Hill Khalid KYLE Noah Cyrus Petite Meller Rag’n’Bone Man SZA The Head And The Heart